The Glass Castle

The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Pages: 368
ISBN: 9781416544661
Available:
Release: 2006-01-02
Editor: Simon and Schuster
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

Journalist Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary and their four children lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary painted and wrote and couldn't stand the responsibility of providing for her family. When the money ran out, the Walls retreated to the dismal West Virginia mining town Rex had tried to escape. As the dysfunction escalated, the children had to fend for themselves, supporting one another as they found the resources and will to leave home. Yet Walls describes her parents with deep affection in this tale of unconditional love in a family that, despite its profound flaws, gave her the fiery determination to carve out a successful life. -- From publisher description.

The Congregationalist

The Congregationalist
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: WISC:89062398227
Available:
Release: 1922
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

She Left Me the Gun

She Left Me the Gun
Author: Emma Brockes
Pages: 352
ISBN: 9780571275830
Available:
Release: 2013-03-18
Editor: Faber & Faber
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

When Emma Brockes was ten years old, her mother said 'One day I will tell you the story of my life and you will be amazed.' Growing up in a tranquil English village, Emma knew very little of her mother's life before her. She knew Paula had grown up in South Africa and had seven siblings. She had been told stories about deadly snakes and hailstones the size of golf balls. There was mention, once, of a trial. But most of the past was a mystery. When her mother dies of cancer, Emma - by then a successful journalist at the Guardian - is free to investigate the untold story. Her search begins in the Colindale library but then takes her to South Africa, to the extended family she has never met and their accounts of a childhood so different to her own.She encounters versions of the life her mother chose to leave behind - and realises what a gift her mother gave her. Part investigation, part travelogue, part elegy, She Left Me the Gun is a gripping, funny and clear-eyed account of a writer's search for her mother's story.

The Perfect Mother

The Perfect Mother
Author: Aimee Molloy
Pages: 336
ISBN: 9780062696816
Available:
Release: 2018-05-01
Editor: HarperCollins
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER AND MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE SUMMER—SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING SCANDAL’S KERRY WASHINGTON An addictive psychological thriller about a group of women whose lives become unexpectedly connected when one of their newborns goes missing. A night out. A few hours of fun. That’s all it was meant to be. They call themselves the May Mothers—a group of new moms whose babies were born in the same month. Twice a week, they get together in Brooklyn’s Prospect Park for some much-needed adult time. When the women go out for drinks at the hip neighborhood bar, they want a fun break from their daily routine. But on this hot Fourth of July night, something goes terrifyingly wrong: one of the babies is taken from his crib. Winnie, a single mom, was reluctant to leave six-week-old Midas with a babysitter, but her fellow May Mothers insisted everything would be fine. Now he is missing. What follows is a heart-pounding race to find Midas, during which secrets are exposed, marriages are tested, and friendships are destroyed. Thirteen days. An unexpected twist. The Perfect Mother is a "true page turner." —B.A. Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors

The Railroad Trainman

The Railroad Trainman
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: STANFORD:36105211464891
Available:
Release: 1901
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

Collier s

Collier s
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: UTEXAS:059171106056783
Available:
Release: 1913
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

Black White

Black   White
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: UTEXAS:059171104201994
Available:
Release: 1900
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

Scientific Monograph Series

Scientific Monograph Series
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: STANFORD:36105110723363
Available:
Release: 1973
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

Atlantic Reporter

Atlantic Reporter
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: PSU:000066310822
Available:
Release: 1912
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

The Christian Parlor Book

The Christian Parlor Book
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: WISC:89066344607
Available:
Release: 1851
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

Gems for the Fireside

Gems for the Fireside
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: OSU:32435061695581
Available:
Release: 1856
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

The Perfect Mother

The Perfect Mother
Author: Nina Darnton
Pages: 240
ISBN: 9781101609385
Available:
Release: 2014-11-25
Editor: Penguin
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

"In this fictionalized account of the Amanda Knox case, journalist Darnton asks the question any parent would dread: Is my child capable of murder?... A fast-paced thriller with the kind of emotional impact that transcends a simple whodunit."—Kirkus Reviews When an American exchange student is accused of murder, her mother will stop at nothing to save her. A midnight phone call shatters Jennifer Lewis’s carefully orchestrated life. Her daughter, Emma, who’s studying abroad in Spain, has been arrested after the brutal murder of another student. Jennifer rushes to her side, certain the arrest is a terrible mistake and determined to do whatever is necessary to bring Emma home. But as she begins to investigate the crime, she starts to wonder whether she ever really knew her daughter. The police charge Emma, and the press leaps on the story, exaggerating every sordid detail. One by one, Emma’s defense team, her father, and finally even Jennifer begin to have doubts. A novel of harrowing emotional suspense, The Perfect Mother probes the dark side of parenthood and the complicated bond between mothers and daughters.

If I Knew Then

If I Knew Then
Author: Jann Arden
Pages: 240
ISBN: 9780735279988
Available:
Release: 2020-10-27
Editor: Random House Canada
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

NATIONAL BESTSELLER Jann Arden--bestselling author, recording artist and late-blooming TV star--is back with this funny, heartfelt and fierce memoir on becoming a woman of a certain age. The power, gravity and freedom she's found at fifty-seven are superpowers she believes all of us can unleash. Digging deep into her strengths, her failures and her losses, Jann Arden brings us an inspiring account of how she has surprised herself, in her fifties, by at last becoming completely her own person. Like many women, it took Jann a long time to realize that trying to be pleasing and likeable and beautiful in the eyes of others was a loser's game. Letting it rip, and damning the consequences, is not only liberating, it's a hell of a lot of fun: "Being the age I am--that so many women are--is just the best time of my life." Jann weaves her own story together with tales of her mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, and the father she came close to hating, to show her younger self--and all of us--that fear and avoidance is no way to live. "What I'm thinking about now aren't all the ways I can try to hang on to my youth or all the seconds ticking by in some kind of morbid countdown to death," she writes, "but rather how I keep becoming someone I always hoped I could be. If I'm lucky one day a very old face will look back at me from the mirror, a face I once shied away from. I will love that old woman ferociously, because she has finally figured out how to live a life of purpose--not in spite of but because of all her mistakes and failures."

The Mother s Magazine

The Mother s Magazine
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: NYPL:33433000237721
Available:
Release: 1917
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

The Biblical Repository and Classical Review

The Biblical Repository and Classical Review
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: UOM:39015065120316
Available:
Release: 1848
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

Mystery Mother Replica 8

Mystery Mother  Replica  8
Author: Marilyn Kaye
Pages: 160
ISBN: 9780804149877
Available:
Release: 2013-09-25
Editor: Skylark
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

Amy knows Nancy isn't her birth mother, but she has raised Amy as her own daughter. Then a woman shows up claiming to be Amy's biological mother. She's got her own explanations about Amy's special abilities and wants Amy back. With doubts about her identity, Amy begins to dig deeper into her origins. But the truth could destroy the only family she's ever known.

Farperoo

Farperoo
Author: Mark Lamb
Pages: 544
ISBN: 0954835611
Available:
Release: 2005
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

The Girl s Own Annual

The Girl s Own Annual
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: IND:30000153248541
Available:
Release: 1891
Editor: Unknown
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

Some volumes also include extra numbers.

Sins of the Mother

Sins of the Mother
Author: August Norman
Pages: 320
ISBN: 9781643854373
Available:
Release: 2020-09-08
Editor: Crooked Lane Books
Language: en

Explanation of the Book:

August Norman returns with the second thrilling Caitlin Bergman novel, perfect for fans of Julia Keller, Tess Gerritsen, and Michael Koryta. Caitlin went in search of her mother...but what she found may set the world on fire. Caitlin Bergman's mother is dead. That's what the award-winning journalist has told everyone for the past forty years. Easier to lie than explain how Maya abandoned her only daughter before dropping off the map forever. But when a rural sheriff invites Caitlin to the woods of coastal Oregon to identify her mother's remains, Caitlin drops everything to face the woman she's spent a lifetime hating. Unfortunately, the body--abandoned on the land of a reclusive cult, the Daughters of God--was left faceless. Instead, Caitlin finds the diary of a woman obsessed with the end of the world, one that hints the cult's spiritual leader knows the identity of Caitlin's real father. She's not the only one looking for clues in her mother's writing. Johnny Larsen, a violent white supremacist whose family runs the county, thinks the Daughters of God kidnapped his teen-aged daughter--and will do anything to get her back. At the top of a hill, an army of women wait for the end of days. In the town below, the Larsens plot to purify their county. Caught in the middle, Caitlin must decide which is more important--learning the truth about her past, or saving Mama Maya's chosen daughters from the end of the world.